Generating Volume-data From Audio

hkrol

Hi!

I'm a student who just discovered the power of Houdini in search of the easiest way to:

- create Volumetric 3D-Textures from sound

- Render them using Ray Marching

Houdini seems to be very suitable for this since it has audio input built in (CHOPS) and very advanced ways to render volumetric data.

What I want to do is basically taking a specific number of audio samples per frame and generate tree dimensional abstract volumes from them (in ways and transformations I still have to find out).

I think there would be many ways to do this, e.g. mapping CHOP-data along axes in object space (taken from P in a VEX network) and piping it into the opacity-output. In this case: how would I get my CHOP-data into the VEX-network?

Is this possible at all or do I have to find ways to manually generate i3d-files (for every frame of my audio data) and render them with Houdini in the end?

by the way: what I don't want in my project is to manipulate polygon-objects' vertices

Another possibility I found before discovering Houdini was to program a 3D-texture-node in maya and feeding that data into a fluid-voxel-container.

But working with nodes feels much more intuitive and faster than writing c++/python code and reloading/rewiring plugins all the time.

I would be very glad if someone could give me a hint on how to approach my 3d-audio-volumes.

- Henning

Yeah, there seem to be a couple of limitations making dumping of CHOP data into Volumes just a little awkward. It would seem that the Channel SOP would still need to be extended by SESI to possibly allow CHOP data to be yanked into Volumes directly.