Mantra - point cloud / ambient occlusion / colour bleeding

smidur

Hi,

As I have a bit of time on my hands I am currently looking at Mantra's point cloud abilities, trying to create a prman style rendering pipeline and came across serveral problems. Apologies in case some of the questions are a bit stupid as I am not a shading expert.

1) Point cloud occlusion

As far as I know there is nothing similar to rendermans point cloud occlusion. It is possible to use point clouds to reduce the raytracing as shown here (files from Point cloud presentation) which is nice but you still need to do raytracing.

The only thing that seems to do the same is Mario HDK solution but as I am no too familiar with HDK stuff this seems to be a bit to tricky for me to do (and I try to avoid SOP solutions - would like to do everything/most with a shader).

Is there anything I have missed? Are there any other solutions out there worth looking at?

2) Colour bleeding

Is there anything similar to rendermans indirectdiffuse (with point cloud) function.

With pcwrite() I am able to bake direct lighting into a point cloud but I am not sure what to do with it.

Is there a way to do a cheap point cloud lookup (is it possible to "trace" into a pointcloud)?

Would be very happy if anyone has some hints for me. I will provide anything I can come up with (if I can come up with something useful) as hip files.

Thanks a lot,

Martin

Hi Martin,

Other than the work described here, there's no way to solve occlusion or color bleeding on the point cloud itself in Houdini.

Mantra is a really good raytracer however (much faster than PRman in my experience). So it might make the most sense to run low res, coarsely diced, renders to cache colorbleeding and/or occlusion using pcwrite, then look up these point clouds in your final renders.

Good luck dude.

Edited by brianburke

• 2 weeks later...
  • 5 months later...

Well, there is a way.

here is a file

enjoy

Fred Fortin