Simulating shave fur dynamics in Houdini

norse

Hi. Im really new to Houdini and have, probably, a really simple question.

Im currently working on trying to improve our dynamics pipeline for hair and fur and decided that I wanted to learn Houdini for this purpose(Not really a fan of shave and haircuts built in dynamics). What I want to do is basicly export curves from maya, and then import the same curves in Houdini. I want to constrain them to an animated mesh and have them move with the mesh in Houdini.

There is a similar help scene that comes with Houdini, however that solution did not work for me, probably due to my curves not have the pivot at origo?

I have a continuation on this thread later as well once Ive managed to solve this, either by myself or with the help of some kind person here =D Which will probably start to get a bit complicated hehe.

For this test I've used a sphere with 14 curves attached to it. The sphere itself is animated. I merged the curves so that I only need to have one simulation network(something I will try to write a script for, would appreciate some help on that point to ;D don't even know where to write scripts in Houdini at the moment).

Im using a wireglueconstraint to drive the curves and then a merge node to add the sphere. The center of the guideconstrain does infact move with the spheres animation, however the constrains of the roots of the curves are still frozen in space. Sorry for the bad explanation. Just check the scene and youll se what I mean :D

Thanks in advance / Henrik

constrainingHairCurves.hip

Thank you for the fast answer. The scenes helped me a lot. Although I still have a few questions. So here goes.