cloth solver not as robut as maya's nucleus?

kelvincai

I am pretty new to houdini. Please bear with me if I missed something obvious.

I am try to re-do the car crash scene as in the side effect's cloth tutorials.

I try to build it from scratch using one of the evermotion's car model and use ray/isooffset to build a proxy (13k polys) for sim.

I couldn't get houdini's cloth solver to converge. But, when I run the same proxy in maya's nucleus engine, it runs pretty okay.

I think I am getting something wrong here, as houdini's cloth solver SHOULD be more or as robust as nucleus. Experts, please help!

I am pretty new to houdini. Please bear with me if I missed something obvious.

I am try to re-do the car crash scene as in the side effect's cloth tutorials.

I try to build it from scratch using one of the evermotion's car model and use ray/isooffset to build a proxy (13k polys) for sim.

I couldn't get houdini's cloth solver to converge. But, when I run the same proxy in maya's nucleus engine, it runs pretty okay.

I think I am getting something wrong here, as houdini's cloth solver SHOULD be more or as robust as nucleus. Experts, please help!

ecar_error.fbx.hip.zip

I think I am getting something wrong here, as houdini's cloth solver SHOULD be more or as robust as nucleus.

Unfortunately I don't think this is quite the case yet. I think the H10 cloth stuff has some catching up to do performance-wise.

H11!

I suspect that you're not actually simulating the proxy.

If you change "select input" from 1 to 0 in "switch1" inside "ecar_lowpoly_fbx",

then you get simpler geometry, on which the simulation runs just fine in the

latest build of Houdini 10.0.

Is this the geometry that you were intending to simulate?

I suspect that you're not actually simulating the proxy.

If you change "select input" from 1 to 0 in "switch1" inside "ecar_lowpoly_fbx",

then you get simpler geometry, on which the simulation runs just fine in the

latest build of Houdini 10.0.