measure curvature

freaq

Hello odforce,

i'm quite new to houdini and i'm encountering a fairly annoying and specific issue,

I need to compare the curvature of 8 curves, curves, and seperate them out into the 4 more straight, and the 4 more "curvy" curves.

I am trying to do this by using a Measure SOP, using an attributepromote to sum the numbers together. to get a value.

after that I would like to proceed to average all the numbers and delete the curves with a highe/lower value than average to get my selection.

however this approach seems to be very unstable, curvature is sometimes not detected and sometimes is.

I have tried Nurbs, Polygon, and nothing seems to help.

also testing perimiter the same way is stable so I can't seem to find what i'm doing wrong.

any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Freek Hoekstra

Well, there is a way I know of to do it in CHOPS, though I am sure it is a very convoluted method. If you use steps 3-6 in my Drama Cam tutorial from my site and the first node on the right branch (targeting the null) of the network you can get the information into your CHOP network. Then you can use a slope node to calculate the derivatives of each null's path, which is by definition the curvature of your line. With some tricks for comparing them and some switches, you can get the right outputs.

I am wanting to explain some of the math behind how this all works, but I am having trouble finding the words to not sound like a condescending ass, and I really don't want to do that. If you have any questions, I would be more than happy to answer them.

What exactly do you mean by curvature? There is quite a few ways to look at curvature. The most intuitive way is what Adam described but how do you get a curvature for the whole curve then? Sum it up? What if the curve is very long but not curvy enough? You normalize its length?