Collapse

nito

Im new to houdini and RBD.... i came across this tutorial

http://translate.google.com.au/translate?hl=en&sl=ja&u=http://blog.junichiakimoto.com/&ei=dmKaT-MWyNiKB8TA6MgO&sa=X&oi=translate&ct=result&resnum=7&sqi=2&ved=0CFgQ7gEwBg&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dhoudini%2Bcollapse%2Bjunichi%2Bakimoto%26hl%3Den%26biw%3D1539%26bih%3D843%26prmd%3Dimvnso

would be greatful if someone could show me how to do this..... i want to have a spaceship falling in space ( animated), but i need it to start falling apart like that.... rather than just deactivating the animation and setting the RBD to do their thing... i would like it to peel away...

maybe theres someother way to do it in houdini... any help would be much appreciated...

nito

• 2 weeks later...

Hey :)

this is a quite complicated effect to start with to be honest. I suggest that you first of all do some more simple tests to make yourself comfortable in houdini. If I may give you a tip, start going through the tutorials of peter quint on vimeo. He made some very fine beginner tutorials with excellent explained examples to nearly every module in houdini. It's worth a look! :)

http://sites.google.com/site/pqhoudinitutorial/home

Anyway, to answer your question, the effect is using a combination of "voronoi dynamic fracturing" (the module which handles dynamic "falling apart / peeling" or "shattering"), in combination of "RBD forces" (I guess gravity is set to the direction to which you want to peel away), some "particles" (using each fractured piece as a emitter), and if I'm not mistaken the "pyroFX-module" to generate smoke and dust. Finally, his shading/lighting is quite complex too.

Setup: