hi, I'm a newbie in Houdini

KeKe

hi, I'm having trouble of some question......the question from my course..

My task is required to be able to simulate the fire, explosion, sparkle effects by just using simply primitives, but not the particle systems that has been done in Houdini...

In other words, I want to make the effect by just using expression language and primitives such as polygon or sphere to make the special effects above, but all tutorials I can find is using the particle system provided in the houdini or the iso surface which is not allowed in my assignment.....

could any "expert" help me out on this?.. :o

Great thanx!

You can use a point SOP and expressions to push points around. If that isn't fair then give up or kick the person that gave you the challenge in the shins. :angry:

The basic idea is to start with a grid or a brickered circle then pass this through a sort SOP to randomize the points followed by a point SOP which spreads the points around and provides the dynamics then a clip SOP to cut the points off below 0 in Y then finally an Add SOP with the option "Delete Geometry But Keep The Points" on.

Now you have your points moving so copy or instance whatever you want to them.

The trick is in the expressions in the point SOP and the Position parameters.

Utilize the following functions with some descriptions and examples:

rand($PT + different_seed)

Great for getting random starting positions for your points but don't put any $T or $FF inside the rand(). It will look like crap.

e.g.:

rand($PT + 1.01)

rand($PT + 10.01)

rand($PT + 100.01)

The next three functions utilize spacial noise:

noise(x,y,z)

turb(x,y,z)

sturb(x,y,z)

These noise functions allow you to sample in to them given an x y z position in space. Different values for x y and z lead to different values but in a smooth continuous fashion unlike rand(). This means that if you feed in two values of x y and z that are very close in value, the difference will be very small.