Raytrace UV Camera Projection

breadbox

Anyone got an idea how to Raytrace a UV Camera Projection?

The idea would be similar to a standard project UV's from camera, BUT to use a second geo object to bounce the UV angle. (see attached picture).  In this example pic the UV's from the standard camera projection would only see the front of the plane... however the raytraced UV using the curved sphere would show the sides and back.   

It seems like something that would be very possible in houdini.  I am just learning some vex / vops, but it seems like some vector math to calculate a , u & v, coordinate based on the normal of the bounce object and then convert that to camera space.  

I would appreciate any help.  scratching my head where to begin. 

post-5696-0-62220300-1435803361_thumb.pn

• Like 1

Hi this seemed like an interesting problem so I gave it a try. The first fun problem to pop up was that when you are using the reflected vector you are using the hemisphere as a lens. You need to move your object somewhere before the focus point or adjust your lens to get a non-inverted/ non infinitely small projection.

Now this solution might be really convoluted but it seems to get close to your idea. To keep it simple I assumed that the camera was shooting rays from its origin (ignoring any and all camera attributes) and calculated a reflected vector for each point. I stored the reflected vector for the sphere and the test object in the "up" attribute so turn on visualizations to see it.

The next problem is to edit the UV's of the test object you need to let a wrangle run over the object itself, thereby not having access to the reflected vector from the sphere. In my solution I run over all the points in the sphere and test for the smallest dot product between the direction from the test object point to all the points of the sphere to get the vector that would have been reflected onto it. This might be way easier than I'm making it but hey it works.