Rubber/stretchy surface

meldrew

Hello Odforce!

As this is my first post, please allow me to introduce myself.

My name is Tim & although I'm quite new to Houdini, I have almost 10 years of experience with C4D and other 3D packages.

I've spent around 4 weeks experimenting with houdini, and love it. Hopefully in time I will learn enough to be of use to other users on this forum! :)

So, my question!

I am attempting to achieve the effect shown in the attached image, using an animated model. The idea is to have the character really stretch a surface which is surrounding them.

I have experimented with the shrinkwrap tool, however I really want to get something that conforms to the body a little more, almost like it has been vacuum packed.

Now, of course I assume this can be done with the cloth solvers, however my experience with them is not great & I assume that the sim time is pretty heavy.

Is there perhaps a clever technique to do this within SOPs? If not, what would be the best way to approach this, from the very experienced minds here on odforce!? ;)

Thanks!

post-14317-0-37018400-1439645588_thumb.j

Cloth attached to body is the easiest - check the attached - essentially you create the cloth by converting a 'peaked' 'shrinked wrapped' version of the original geo to vdb then back to polys- this is then shrunk back onto the original geo as cloth.

It's rough-as but might help to start.

Edit: PigRapped version added.

Shrinkwrap.hipnc

post-8321-0-90055600-1439697768_thumb.pn

WrappedCloth2.hip

post-8321-0-88055900-1439707748_thumb.pn

Edited by tar

Cloth attached to body is the easiest - check the attached - essentially you create the cloth by converting a 'peaked' 'shrinked wrapped' version of the original geo to vdb then back to polys- this is then shrunk back onto the original geo as cloth.

It's rough-as but might help to start.

Edit: PigRapped version added.

Hi Marty,