cloud rendering vs. build a home render-farm

tony

I'm an fx artist and am looking to start taking on some freelance work from home soon.  I'm having the debate as to whether it would be better to build/buy a custom render farm for home or to try and take advantage of the cloud options that are available.

I've put a summary of the info I've gathered so far below and I'd be grateful if anybody could offer any advice on this topic or correct anything I might have got wrong below.

Cheers,

Tony

Cloud Rendering

I've seen Amazon and Gridmarkets mentioned here on odforce and the sidefx forums. They seem to be the most popular options, but I also found this list: http://rentrender.com/houdini-render-farms/

of different cloud render farms that apparently support Houdini.

Amazon

This seems like a good option as it is the most well documented/tested so far. My main concern though is that I've been reading through the docs and it seems the process for me to simulate and render something would be: 

1. upload hip file

2. do sim

3. download sim files

4. upload hip file again with sim files

5. do render

6. download render

(or do the sim locally at home and skip steps 1-3)

This seems like it would be problematic if the simulation is big, as it would take a very long time to upload/download the sim data.

It sounds like it would be a good solution if I'm just trying to render a simpler scene, but I don't think it will be feasible for fx work with large sims.

Gridmarkets

I've just signed up for the beta, so will try to update this once I've done some tests. I'm hopeful this can solve the problem outlined above though based on this video: 

I don't seem to be able to find any cost info on there website so it's hard to know if this would be a feasible solution at the moment.

Home Render Farm

From what I've read so far, either custom building or buying a second hand rack/blade server would be the best option for a home farm.