How to create a dissolving effect on fracture pieces

dtarr77

Hello,

I am working on a project helping a friend where I have a fractured character/object (made of a cloth like material) that is basically disintegrating and blowing away using the spring SOP with help from a CMIVFX Tutorial

The only issue is that I need the pieces to dissolve away to nothing as well.  I figured the "foreach" node (with a transform node shrinking as time passes with $FF) would be the way to go, but I am still learning Houdini and VEX expressions, and despite any research, I have not been able to really understand how to get it to do what I want.  The foreach node still kind of confuses me at the moment.  How can I get each piece to shrink way over time to nothing?  Thank you in advance for any help.

Thanks,

Dustin

Edited by dtarr77

Scaling down by time could be done with the following expression:

fit($F, 1, 25, 1, 0)

You remap frame 1-25 to 1 and 0. Just put this expression in the scaling of your transform(which is in your foreach node).

As for the effect of disintegrating it isn't the most elegant solution. I would rather go with particles "eating" away the geo. There are plenty of tutorials on that effect online.
If you need some more info on how to do the scaling by time with the foreach node don't hesitate to ask.

Hope That helps.

Dennis

Hey Dennis,

Thank you so much for replying and the expression.  That expression helps, but the biggest issue I am having now is that it scales the fractured geometry as a whole to its centroid point (which is near its base) instead of each individual piece getting smaller to its own centroid point.  It is more than likely that I am not setting up the foreach node correctly since I am very new to it.  I tried both the foreach subnetwork and loop versions.  I figured Loop was not the one I needed, but tried it anyway and it does the same thing in this case.