Learning Hdk

I'm thinking about diving into the murky world of HDK but I've really only done about a months worth of self taught C coding about 8 years ago, so I figure the first thing I need to do is get up to speed with C and C++. I've been looking at online courses and wondering if they are suitable.

So my question is what would one need to know if they are starting from nothing ( I can script and write basic code and other high level stuff ) and want to learn HDK? In fact is this even feasible give the tiny amount of help available for the HDK?

Any help much appreciated as ever.

Guest xionmark

I don't know how good the online courses are that you're considering, but I would suggest taking a look through the samples included with the HDK. There's not a lot of them but they will help. Also download the "Doxygenated" HDK docs off the odforce wiki at: http://www.odforce.net/wiki/index.php/HDKDoxygenPages to start to get familar with the HDK's structure.

Good luck.

--Mark

Hey Simon,

It's a pretty long road no matter how you slice it, but a fun and rewarding one (IMHO at least). It's been a long while since I've looked at introductory texts, so I'm not familiar with what's out there these days, but I'd probably recommend the "bible" to start with: "The C++ Programming Language" by Bjarne Stroustrup -- it's so good you can almost forgive its atrocious cover art... almost :P . Even after you've "learned" the language you'll probably use it as a reference every now and then.