Bubble particles from mesh

Hi! I'm fairly new to Houdini and working on some personal explorations— I'm trying to grow some jiggly, organic bubbles from the mesh of some hard surface geometry that detach themselves and float away. I've got a basic setup (file attached) and would love input on two specific things (and also if there's a better general approach to what I'm doing). 

1 As the particles grow away from the surface of the main geometry, I''m trying to figure out how to create an attribute that would map that distance.. so that I can eventually use it to drive a shader/material (I'd like to go from the shader of the main geo to a bubble-like shader). I quickly mocked up what I think this map would look like (just a gradient distance from the main geo). 

distance_map_mockup.thumb.jpg.4f9a5e8c6e906268e2d03d6338891fcf.jpg

2 I'd really love to add dynamic forces to the particles emerging and detaching from the surface. They'd slowly push through the main mesh, struggling their way out, before getting a strong push in velocity once they snap free. Where would I even start? :) I'm currently using an SDF Union to create the meta-ball like attachment, but I feel like perhaps this may be the wrong setup for what I eventually want. This approach is also smoothing out my main "hard surface" geo which I don't want, but I figured there's a way to reproject the original surface.... 

Thanks for taking the time!

meshbubbles_001.hiplc

• 2 weeks later...