Hair Modeling

steve-o

Hey everyone,

I was wondering if anyone had any good suggestions about creating hair on a female model. I have done hair in Houdini using curves and they worked fine howerver they were static and stood straight up (it gave a more fur like representation). I have never done hair on a human before and I have never animated the hair.

Any help would be great. I am trying to use houdini more than maya and this is one of the bigest hurtles I need to get over.

Thanks

Steve-o

Well, i think i can help you a bit here.

I will tell you what i did ago and hopefully this could be helpfull in one or another way for you.

It's the common workflow - startCurve, restCurve, dynamiCurve + per-primitive/per-point control + tools to manage the data and objects. The data flow is split between hairSystem, hairFollicle and hairClump operators.

The hairFollicles contain the dynamic/rest/start curves. You can use ( edit/reshape ) the built-in curves, or connect to the follicles geometry containing curves modeled in other 3D apps, each hairFollicle will pick-up only one unique primitive from there.

These operators allow and fine tuning of the dynamic properties of the curves using constant values or animationCurves ( for per-point control along the curves ).

The hairClumps contain the actual curves which will be rendered. These operators basically "instance" geometry along the dynamicCurves, add some variation to the shape, thickness, color, shaders are applied to them, etc.

All the hairFollicles get connected to hairSystem node. It collects all the dynamicCurves and sends them to the DOP network, DOPs do something with that geometry and send the simmed data back to the hairSystem. The hairSystem propagates the changes to the follicles. Also hairSystem allows global control over the whole hair setup.