Houdini & 3Delight Shaders

Hey guys! I'm currently using Houdini 10.0.374 x64 along with 3Delight 8.5 x64 on Windows Vista Ultimate x64.

I already have it setup to render using 3Delight no problem, but I am still a newbie in terms of the integration of these two powerful programs.

My question is...how do I use the 3Delight shaders inside of Houdini (or Maya)?

I've never been able to quite figure it out on my own in Maya, and same thing with Houdini.

• Do I need to compile them first?
  • If yes, are there any easy steps to doing this?
  • Will they be visually represented in the Houdini or Maya shader view?
  • Do I need to know vast amounts of coding to tweak parameters?
  • ...or am I better off just using the default shaders shipped with the respective programs?

List of my relevant software:

Houdini 10.0.374 x64

3Delight 8.5 x64

Microsoft Visual Studio 2005

Microsoft Visual Studio 2008

Hey guys! I'm currently using Houdini 10.0.374 x64 along with 3Delight 8.5 x64 on Windows Vista Ultimate x64.

I already have it setup to render using 3Delight no problem, but I am still a newbie in terms of the integration of these two powerful programs.

My question is...how do I use the 3Delight shaders inside of Houdini (or Maya)?

I've never been able to quite figure it out on my own in Maya, and same thing with Houdini.

• Do I need to compile them first?
  • If yes, are there any easy steps to doing this?
  • Will they be visually represented in the Houdini or Maya shader view?
  • Do I need to know vast amounts of coding to tweak parameters?
  • ...or am I better off just using the default shaders shipped with the respective programs?

List of my relevant software:

Houdini 10.0.374 x64

3Delight 8.5 x64

Microsoft Visual Studio 2005

Microsoft Visual Studio 2008

You might want to start at:

http://odforce.net/wiki/index.php/3DelightSetup