Transparency map within VEX builder?

rd1010

I'm wondering if anyone can offer a hint on this as I'm trying to figure out how to create a transparency map within a VEX builder shader SOP... I've been fumbling around with it a bit but I'm fairly new to using the VEX builder.. I gather that it would be a texture passing through a composite SOP but can't seem to figure out how to input the variable for it to "subtract" which makes the texture map into a transparency map... don't know really where to start as I'm not seeing the subtract option anywhere on the composite SOP.

Thanks for any advice

Thanks for the response... that sounds right, I will try that..

EDIT: I am playing around with this but still don't get exactly how to do it.. probably since I am still pretty new to VEX building.. if anyone has any further specifics I would greatly appreciate your input.. I will post a file here later on once I play around with it more to ask more specifically what I am doing wrong.

Edited by rd1010

Hoping you can clear this up as I'm confused on this.. should I be outputting the vector node to the composite SOP or the final output SOP?

Also, I have gotten the parameter attached to the vector SOP but its only showing one line on the material parameters within the SHOP which is just three boxes with values: 0 0 0 (like you'd see for map coordinates or something).. are there other SOPs I need to attach to the vector SOP to get the parameters to allow me to choose the compositing values (subtract, add, etc)?

Thanks for any help on this as this will be very helpful to me once I get it figured out

EDIT: I think maybe I need to input a string? I recall seeing the string when looking at the type properties of a "vex layered surface" shader.. I'll try this later on when I get back home.

Edited by rd1010