Closest point along surface, not volume

maansrune

Hey guys, first time posting here. Hope you can help me, I'm a VEX noob, but I want to learn.

I'm have created planes from point scattered across a character. I now want these planes to neatly wrap to original mesh. For that I use the below VEX in a VEX point wrangle node. And it works.. but...

int prim;
vector primuv;

// Find distance to nearest point of geometry from input 2
vector dist = xyzdist(@OpInput2, @P, prim, primuv, 1000000000000);
vector adata = primuv(@OpInput2, "P", prim, primuv); 

vector diff = (@P - adata)*fit01(@leaf_splat_paint,3,1); // Subtract distance from original position
vector product = diff * ch("splatMult"); // Add multiplier to SPLAT effect
vector sum = product + adata; // Add the new point position to the product

@P = sum; // Make sum new position

My problem is that whenever the characters legs cross close to one another, the planes of one leg try to align with the opposite leg, creating a jittering stretching effect that is not desirable. This is also true if the arms comes close to the face or the torso.

My question is, what do I need to add to the VEX code to search for closest point along surface and not within volume of space?

Any help is appreciated.

This forum has been a god sent in the past for me, you guys have helped me out of more trouble than I care to admit :) Cheers

Hi 

I would timefreeze a frame or if you have a bindpose (T-Pose), use that as your OpInput2, and then plug the animated character into OpInput3

to get the current P

so something like this

int prim;
vector primuv;

// Find distance to nearest point of geometry from input 2
vector dist = xyzdist(@OpInput2, @P, prim, primuv, 1000000000000); //You look up prim number and uv on static pose
vector adata = primuv(@OpInput3, "P", prim, primuv); // You fetch the P from the animated character

vector diff = (@P - adata)*fit01(@leaf_splat_paint,3,1); // Subtract distance from original position