How to distinguish/identify objects in EXR output

Hi,

I am new to both Houdini Mantra and Nuke, so bare with me :) In summary, I have a scene with 2 objects: Box_A and Box_B. Now I want to configure Mantra to render them such that I'll be able somehow to distinguish them as EXR layers, i.e. I want to produce a layer (RGBA) for Box_A and another layer (RGBA) for Box_B such that when I select Box_A layer I get RGBA for Box_A and same for Box_B. My goal is to color grade them independently in Nuke.

One last note, I've tried to Node_ID and Primitive_ID layers in Mantra but when I've read them in Nuke, I got the same identical images !? i.e. both layers "seem" to have the same data, maybe I am reading them incorrectly in Nuke, but I am also new to Nuke...

Thanks,

Just an update... when I enabled Node ID (op_id) as extra image plan, I got unique rgb for each object. However, the rgb values are not clamped to [0,1] so I am getting large RGB pairs like (1234,1234,1234) and I could find an easy way in Nuke to select specific objects (or create a masks) based on the op_id (for those who are interested, I've tried to use keylight and other keyer, but they did not work because the RGB values were so high and out of [0,1] range)

I will look for a way to produce something like an alpha channel (to act as a mask) for each object automatically. The other solution is to render each object alone but that would be tooo much rendering...

Another idea is to manually export some parameters on shaders to extra image plan, i.e. define a variable X and on the shaders used by object A and set its value to 1 and use it extra layer (such that only shaders that use object A will set X to 1 hence producing its matte...however this is too much work and it will get messy as shaders are shared between objects...)

Edited by catchyid

if you want 0-1 values for object matte you can generate an attribute at SOP level and render that.