L-systems And Expressions

henderthing

I'm fairly new to L-systems, (and this forum) and am running into a few difficulties.

I notice that $(x,y,z) will allow me to override the orientation of the turtle, which is great--as it's the only vector-based control over orientation I've seen so far. But I want to calculate that vector based on any number of aspects of surrounding geometry. I tried doing something like this:

$((point("../point1",(nearpoint("../point1",x,y,z)),"N",0)),(point("../point1",(nearpoint("../point1",x,y,z)),"N",1)),(point("../point1",(nearpoint("../point1",x,y,z)),"N",2)))

for instance, as a crude test to orient the turtle in the direction of the nearest point of the sop "point1"'s normal------Only to discover after it failed that there are a very limited number of functions available to expressions within L-systems. Of course "point" and "nearpoint" are not among them.

Does anyone know of other techniques for getting info from other sops into the L-system? in(x,y,z) isn't gonna cut it, I'm afraid. If this limitation is as insurmountable as it appears, I'm going to have to investigate using POPs to do what you'd think an Lsys is approprate for.

Any clues?

Thanks

-m

Cool--thanks for your reply. I didn't think that the x,y,z stuff would get evaluated properly at the parameter level (for each step of the L-sys)...doh.

Of course now, I will have used up all three user variables for a single vector's worth of information. Is there a way to add more user variables?

In general--it's seeming pretty tricky to get Lsys to behave in a way that relates to other geometry in the scene. I've been looking into procedurally building curves, or copy-stamping curves instead. But trying to keep my options open--for a couple more days anyway...

-m

Are you going to use such expression in l-system rules?

Try using the expression in custom variables to obtain vector components and put variables into your rules.

21891[/snapback]