Train tracks in procedural

Hi 

I'm still a beginner in Houdini and i decided to create a mini project to learn it and stay motivated. I want create a procedural train tracks. I would like to have the tracks follow a spline and depending on the angle and the lenght of the spline the system will place the correct blocks. I will build each blocks straight and curve separately. 

Here is the schematic of each blocks and a quick render i did in Houdini

http://www.woodenrailway.info/track/trackmath.html#

Any idea where to start ?

Thank you for your help.

Thomas

train 3.jpg

train.jpg

• Like 2

This sounds neat! I'm down to offer some help.

Well as with most things in Houdini I think it would be a good to start by breaking our problem down into parts.

So we have the user create a nurbs or bezier curve (not polygon) so that we can resample the curve into evenly spaced lines. Having the lines be evenly spaced will help if/when we calculate the curvature between the re sampled points. What comes next depends on what kind of system we design.

Option 1: We calculate the curvature of the curve and if the points fall within a certain angel threshold they get assigned a value (0, 1, 2...) corresponding to the respective piece.

Option 1.1: After we find what points would get what pieces, we build the whole thing piece by piece. Starting with an initial position and then going through each point, reading which piece, and then appending that piece to the end of the rail. There are problems with this though. Because the system is built around the curvature between two points, it doesn't take into consideration where those two points are meaning that by the end the rails would be very displaced from the original curve.