Modeling Help Needed

renochew

Hi, I am new to Houdini, still don't quite get use to the way procedural modeling work, I've already spend two days just to experiment different ways of modeling a simple shape like the following but without success... :(

shapetesttv4.jpg

I want to bevel all the edges but I just can't make the select-loop works, and it is too tedious to select the edges individually (I need some bump in the front cross section so I make the faces fairly high rez), I think it is because the point order get messed up so I use a sort sop to try to clean it up but no luck.

A more general question is that, I use Boolean here to make the shape, is it the best way to go? I also tried using curve to outline the cross section shape, but due to holes in the middle, I can't get I clean polygon either.

I've attached the hip file, hope someone could give me some advices on how to approach this kind of modeling.

Thanks in advanced.

shapeTest2.hipnc

Hi

it looks to me that you would be better off with initial curve for profile-probably half of it because its symetrical!

then mirror it and fuse points together after this do poly extrude with all options on back, side and front.

you will get cleaner mesh that way then go in and try bevel or even polysplit edges manually for more controlable result?

If you want this one to subdivide nicely you will need cleaner topology and you can get away with one third of polys you have now

Maybe check 3dbuzz tutorial on subd shoe modeling

z

That Micro bevel thing was really intended for geometry where you have no possible way of manually creating a poly bevel - or perhaps in some extreme case where it saves memory to do it in the shader and not in the geometry.