[Beginner] L-System / Branches

primzahl

Hello,

I'm following the Tutorials from this site and Workshop No.8 is a nice introduction for L-Systems. In exercise No. 3 you should try get the given shape. Well, I think, I set up the rules to get close to the sample, but I couldn't find out one thing. I read the help-files and played around with some variable, but I couldn't find a Solution:

As you can see the branch 'C' scales down and decreases by (in?) generation. But as in the sample, it should only scales down. How can I do that?

primzahl

post-3305-1237200563_thumb.jpg

post-3305-1237200620_thumb.jpg

post-3305-1237200727.jpg

Edited by primzahl

As you can see the branch 'C' scales down and decreases by (in?) generation. But as in the sample, it should only scales down. How can I do that?

FWIW, i can't duplicate the original Lsystem either, but I'm no Lsystem pro.

anyway, a few "observations" :

if you zoom in really tightly to the source pix, you will notice that "C" in the source does, in fact, decrease over "time" (generations). it just doesn't decrease as fast as as yours. ;)

i see the "dimensions" of the source shape to be approx 5 grid squares tall and 7 grid squares wide. whereas yours starts off fitting entirely inside one of those squares!! technically 0.25 of one square! this might not apply to any of this, but it might help.

here's a doozy! they never mention that "C" needs to grow over time. in other words, why not create it with a few generations ( pre-grow it ) and then open up the comments and copy the "Lysystem string?" OK OK you can do this rather easily by hand copying and pasting the original rule, but if you want you can also go to a textport and use "opinfo." you can even drag and drop the Lsystem node rather than typing in its path.

my guess is, it is a variant of this. probably a couple repeated "iterations" and then the call back to "C" again.

other than that, you might try emailing the author / instructor.