New User - Pyro issues.

Jim M

Firstly Hello!

Quick intro ... I'm new to Houdini (like it) & have 10 years experience in the CG industry.

I have spent a couple of days looking at the Pyro stuff, and though I have most of the basic workflow down, I am a bit confused (and tired).

I have watched a load of tutorials, largely for H10 I think, and I am getting some what appear to strange workflow issues.

Typical setup... Fan model rotating (static rigd body) distubing some billowy smoke...

Firstly I have all the LoRes and UpRes Bgeos saved to disk, and the nodes are set to read from disk.

1. When I press play on the timeline, it all starts to simulate. This is unexpected as I am loading from disk. (Perhaps it is simulating the Static Rigid Bodys?). Do you have to play through once to load the files (and potentially extraneous RB sim) into a memory cache?

2. I am having IPR/caching issues... If I am doing an IPR mantra render, and I click to a different frame, even if I have played through the timeline once and made sure everything is Simulated/Loaded from disk, it jumps attempts to simulate for ages and then renders the lighting out diffently/i.e totally wrong... or just goes a bit mental.

3. I am confused as to the display flags. I watched a tutorial where the guy flipped between the upres and lores in OGL and the upres detail was great. The difference was obvious. No matter what I set Render Display flags to, I cant get the behaviour where I can flip between the two. I can render out fine, or I can set it to look great in the veiwport, but I cant flip between the upres and lores..... With the sim-switch set to upres, the lores visualisation is errored (within the geometry node) or chevroned/greyed out or whatever you call it, I dont understand why. Should I set the sim-switch to both? I thought it was because I had pinned my veiwport in a weird way or something, but its not that. Perhaps some object view switching setting i dont know about?