Houdini to Nuke - 3D

Hi,

I'm very much a beginner here so many apologies if this is a basic question

I'm not yet running Apprentice HD, I'll be buying it very shortly, so at the min I'm getting to grips with the freebie version.

I've managed to (eventually) save out single basic objects from Houdini (ie. spheres and basic shapes etc) as .obj files and import them into Nuke successfully. One issue here is that they seem to be brought into Nuke with no shaders or textures etc, just the bare bones of the shapes. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? - I'm just going into the SOP and right clicking the node then selecting 'save geometry'.

My main question though very much relates to this same point, only difference, I'd like to know how to export the objects with their animation properties. For example, say I build a basic chimney with a particle emitter inside, resulting in a steady flow of particles flowing out of the chimney. How would I then get this into Nuke whilst maintaining all of the 3D aspects, enabling me to control it's coordinates and even MatchMove it all within Nuke? The result? Hopefully the chimney, in this case, would still be animated once imported into Nuke, and I would have full control over the cameras rotation and position (exactly as I would within Houdini).

I really hope there's a way, I'm assuming there must be. I'm really excited about the possibility of MatchMoving the 3D elements from Houdini inside Nuke.

Thanks in advance.

Chaz

Hello Chaz.

To answer about your first question, in Nuke when you import your geometry you must have some node name

ReadGeo

You must pipe in your texture,or any image, or if you want to assign some shaders, you can create them inside nuke via the shader menu.

I've never tried to export shaders to nuke so can't really help on taht point.

To get your animation i suggest you use FBX export so you can get all your animation inside nuke.