Houdini 11 on Ubuntu 10

Hi all,

I'm still a noob in Houdini and after careful consideration I choose to download Ubuntu 10.10 64-bit over other linux distros. My question, is Houdini 11 is stable to run under Ubuntu 10.10 64-bit? The reason I chose the 64-bit system is because I need additional RAM for rendering purposes.

So anyone who has experience maybe can enlighten me..

Cheers...

I'm currently running h11.0.581 on ubuntu 10.04 (64 bit) and it works like a charm. The feel is smoother than on windows 7 (64 bit) and the rendertimes are a bit faster too.

It should work fine on 10.10 too. As far as I know sidefx tends to support the Long Term supported versions of ubuntu. Just make sure you install all the build-essential and other packages and that your gcc matches the houdini you are downloading. (some info here: http://www.peterclaes.be/blog/?p=67 )

It took a bit of time to configure graphics driver (nvidia), dual screen and wacom tablet, but fairly painless. A lot of these issues have been smoothed out over the years.

My current setup:

Hp xw8400 workstation:

*) 2 quad xeon X5365 3.0 Ghz processors

*) 22 Gb ram

*) geforce 580

*) 1st hdisk: 300 Gb WD Raptor drive (10.000rpm)

*) 2nd hdisk: 2TB (7.500rpm)

*) 2 24" screens (samsung) at 1900x1200

I found this a good benchmark test for cpu rendering:

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=172&page=viewtopic&t=20908&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

My system scored around the 6:30 mark

@pclaes : Thanks for the info. I just finished installing Ubuntu and try to get use to it. It's great to hear that Houdini runs well on the 64-bit version. So, I will install Houdini and hopefully it will work out. Can't wait to start playing with it.

Btw, nice setup you have there..(drool). I've done the test also but it was using Houdini on Windows 7.

My setup :

i7 2600k. 4Gb RAM. Overclocked to 4.2Ghz

Winfast GTS430

And my score was :

Render Time: 6:11.563u 0.499s 6:18.97r