Real Time Finite Element simulation

xuisp

Hey everyone,

I'm an experienced C/C++ programmer new to Houdini and Python and I was wondering if you guys could help me determine if my project is feasible using Houdini.

Basically, I'm going to be creating a mesh of a human brain modelled via Finite Element Methods and design a program that can render the brain while allowing for real time force input to model deformation. I'll be using GPU programming techniques for efficient processing of the deformation.

So, is it possible (and if so what methods would you recommend) to send input to Houdini or call Houdini methods from the C program - that updates the mesh - in order to render and essentially display it? The model will essentially be defined by a set of nodes (not to be confused with Houdini nodes) in 3D space.

Thanks for your help in advance!

Hey everyone,

I'm an experienced C/C++ programmer new to Houdini and Python and I was wondering if you guys could help me determine if my project is feasible using Houdini.

Basically, I'm going to be creating a mesh of a human brain modelled via Finite Element Methods and design a program that can render the brain while allowing for real time force input to model deformation. I'll be using GPU programming techniques for efficient processing of the deformation.

So, is it possible (and if so what methods would you recommend) to send input to Houdini or call Houdini methods from the C program - that updates the mesh - in order to render and essentially display it? The model will essentially be defined by a set of nodes (not to be confused with Houdini nodes) in 3D space.

Thanks for your help in advance!

Hey there,