advect smoke by particles

Hi,

I'm looking for a way to turn a particle animation into a smoke simulation which follows the movement of the particles but also creates some additional swirls and detail. I already tried to copy the particle velocity to the vel field via a gas particle to field dop but this doesn't seems to work in this case. The smoke kinda sticks to its position without following the particles in the correct way and it's also difficult to control the overall look of the simulation. Is there a better way to archive this effect ? I'm new to Dops and can't figure out what's going wrong here.

Just to refresh my head from painful Python scripting I decided to give a quick look at your problem. :)

Maybe my solution won´t look as glamorous or technical as you might be expecting, specially after I took a look at your scene and it´s a quite complex one indeed! :blink:

But, you know, sometimes less is more, and before I start playing with copying fields around I tend to play with what the current toolset can offer. After all I don´t want to build something that´s already there :blink:

Is this what you´re after? It´s a bit high on disturbance, but you get the idea...

ParticlesCreateSmoke.mov

If it is, as you´ll see from the hip file it´s nothing special. Just particles used as volume source (remember to use "Stamp Points" as your method, not "Build SDF from Volumes"), no bouyancy, lots of drags, little sourcing, turbulence and disturbance mostly.

Here´s the hip file. I appologize in advance if you expected a more technical solution, but this one works and is very easily tweaked.

ParticlesCreateSmoke.hipnc

Hope this helps.

• Like 1

one of the easier ways is to source the velocity of the particles into the smoke sim along with

sourcing smoke from the particles..this will mix the particle velocities into the smoke sim.

edit: the gas particle to field dop works by splatting the particles into a field which is based on a