FLIP leaks through collision geo container - Gatorade Shower Test

venator11387

I am relatively new to Houdini and I am starting to use FLIP. I started doing a test where a character gets splashed with a Gatorade Shower/ Bath:

As seen in the video attachment below, the FLIP particles leak through the cooler container where I put them (the collision guide geo is shown in the video). I have tried everything from upping the division size, thickness, substep, density, etc. but it still leaks through especially when it moves. I'm pretty much at a loss on how to fix this. I've attached the scene file below with the cooler geo.

FlipLeakVid.zip

FLIPgatoradeFiles.zip

Hi Vincent,

I can't solve it but I do notice that the orientation of the primitive (polygons/faces) normals are not perpendicular to the primitive. I can't be sure but this might cause the trouble.

The trouble is that I can't figure out how to reset or reorient the primitive normal. Some one else might know the trick to this one.

Cheers,

Just at first glance

your collision geometry is closed

That's weird, how did you get that?! The primitives look fine on my end as well. Is it because I am using Houdini 12.0.683?

Edit: So I checked my scene using H12.1.185 and parts of the collision are not only closed, but have no normals on some parts. Unless someone knows, I think I may just start over to see what's up.

post-9028-0-17993300-1360437833_thumb.jp

Edited by venator11387

So after a couple of days of trying to work this out I am pretty much at the same point. I used the method of a separate thick collision geo around the container from Peter Quint's Fluid Winespill Tutorial. However, for some reason instead of going through the geometry (though some still leak through) the particles disappear in the areas they used to spill through. In addition, it seems like the FLIP particles disappear even though I filled up the container.

I included two vids that have the geo wireframed to show what's going on.