Houdini Fur advanced grooming techniques

Hi ,

im quite new to the houdini world, and thanks to the forum and lots of free video tutorial im getting quite excited about it.

I was wondering if you can point me out to the right direction on understanding better the way Fur grooming works in houdini .

For example what kind of techniques should i use to add custom guides to a groom, how would i go into modeling or comb the length of the existing guides ( for example if i want to create an Elvis looking spline/guides),

Should i model the Guides splines or the Clumps ones (i know Guides are for dynamics but in other softwares are also for the look, what about clumps?) ?

From the fur preset i can only enter the guides/clumps as a whole, can i separate them to act on a one by one? or at least is there an easy way to get to one curve only components at time?

How can i set a rest/goal pose for the dynamic curves guides, can i act on indivudual guides aswell???

Do you think would be possible to paint in view port a curve, moving the mouse around on a view plane/surface (with the paint tool?), and tell the surrounding guides to follow that painted curve?

Or is there a way of selecting few exact guides and make them follow a poligonal surface ( i tought maybe modeling out a modified poly cilinder and making the surrounding guides to snap on the cilinder lenght )?

The brush comb that houdini uses at the moment, are only working from the bottom of the guides i think they are nice but when it comes to a more advanced/specific type of creature/groom, i find them hard to use.

I come from a maya background, and im trying to get my head around houdini, i simply fell in love with mantra and im trying to switch my fur/render pipeline from maya to houdini.

thanks

Indeed, right now there aren't fur tools to comb the hairs themselves like in most other grooming tools. They only paint surface attributes.