rebuild SDF

hello

i wonder about rebuild SDF theory

i little know that about rebuild SDF is reinitialize SDF when keep the iso contour value is 0

but i don't know mean that iso contour and rebuild SDF theory

here is Master Class that explain to Gas Reinitialize SDF DOP

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1422&Itemid=132

i trying to know about rebuild SDF theory by reference Master Class

but i still don't got it

somebody have good infomation about rebuild SDF theory?

i tired to looking for rebuild SDF theory info

if you have then i'll say you

very very very thanks you

Edited by sonppw

I'm by no means an expert but here's my rough understanding and others can jump in to correct me. In very simply Houdini terms, an SDF, (aka Signed Distance Field) is a 3D voxel array where each voxel's value is the distance to the surface. So let's take a very simple example:

- Create a default Box SOP

- Append an IsoOffset and set its Output Type to SDF Volume

- Append a Volume Slice to visualize just a slice of the created SDF volume

- Set the display (blue) flag on the Volume Slice, and the template (pink) flag on the Box.

Now look in the geometry spreadsheet for the Volume Slice.. Notice that the density attribute values are nearly 0 at the border to the box, negative inside, and positive outside. Those density values give you an idea of how far that voxel is away from the surface of the box that you created an SDF for. To be precise, the surface is located at where two adjacent voxels cross the 0 boundary ie. it's negative in one voxel, and positive in the neighbouring voxel.