Error in the ActiveValue Sop : RBD passive object

Denver

Hello everyone, i'm new to Houdini so forgive me if it's a stupid question.

I'am following a tutorial to "control your fracture in houdini", and everything is good until, he use a certain method to make passive some blocks.

The method seems quite simple, attach a point to each piece with a foreach and a centroid expression, transfert a Color attribute from an old geometry to the new one to have some black points where he wants passive blocks.
after that, he use an ActiveValue sop, and put a point expression in the activation channel, and everything seems to works for him.

But when I try that expression  : point("../../HEAD_BASE/PASSIVE",$OBJ,"Cd",0)     :

I have that error  : Unable to evaluate expression (Bad data type for function or operation (/obj/AutoDopNetwork/activevalue1/active))

I did some research, and apparently i'am not the only one with that error, but i didnt find any solution yet, If someone have an idea to help me, or another solution to makes some blocks of your fractured object passive.

Have a nice day.

fracturing_setup.hip

But when I try that expression  : point("../../HEAD_BASE/PASSIVE",$OBJ,"Cd",0)     :

I have that error  : Unable to evaluate expression (Bad data type for function or operation (/obj/AutoDopNetwork/activevalue1/active))

Use $OBJID instead........

oh realy ? could you send me the file you use ? i should have miss something, because it's not working for me.

Yes it's my  file i have the geo file, but i cant upload it on the forum, may be i can send it to you by mail ? 

Edited by Denver

• 1 year later...

Hi,

I have the same issue. I am doing this tutorial: http://www.digitaltutors.com/11/training.php?pid=1091#overviewand I am stuck at lesson 9.

I am working on H15 and the activevalue node doesn't work as expected.

I saw this problem on a lot of forums but no solution.

As anyone got any update on this?

Thanks,

Yannick