Particle Collision Problems

melc92

Hi,

I have tried to make rain in Houdini using source particles and I have managed to get them to collide with an alembic file that I have exported from Maya, however there's a problem because the collisions seem to be happening above the actual objects instead of on them so the particles are floating above?

I have no idea how to fix this as I am very new to Houdini, any help would be great!

post-14190-0-22055400-1438105539_thumb.p

In the solver for your collision object, you have the option to visualize the collision geometry, that will allow you to see if that is the problem or something else. As an example, I've done setups where I moved something at object level creating gaps without there actually being gaps in the simulation itself.

And if the problem is the collision geometry, you have all the optins in there for correcting the creation of that to match your actual geometry better, among other things using convex hulls.

• 2 weeks later...

I was wondering if anyone could help me again, I have the rain colliding with the objects and I have the style that I want but I want the particles to split when they collide with the ground and other objects in the scene.

I have tried using the 'POPreplicate' node but that makes the rain split the entire time, I'm guessing this may have something to do with where I am placing the node, but I'm not 100% sure where it should go.

I have attached an image of my setup, any help would be great!

This is also what I'm using for reference for the style of the rain, https://www.pinterest.com/pin/501588477227078883/

post-14190-0-31704000-1439454952_thumb.j