Group from points that are inside of another geometry

Hi folks!

First of, I'm a noob, so maybe this task seems to be very basic.

Lets say I have a grid. Then I have a polysphere. Both of them are inside an geometry node.

I would like to delete all points from the grid, that are not covered by the sphere.

Would be the correct way to somehow paint a color onto the grid with the sphere and use that to delete with an expression?

I don't know how this could work, and I'm not sure how to feed Dr. Google with this - I think basic - question.

I'd like to copy boxes onto the grid, but only where it intersects with the sphere. The copy node has a group parameter so I thought this would be the way to go.

I'd like to animate this effect.

Thank you for reading ;)

Edited by gekkonier

hi, this is very simple. 

inside your object:

1) create Group SOP

2) attach your grid to the left input and set the entity to points

3) inside the group SOP, make it a "Bounding" mode and set type to Bounding object

4) attach your reference geometry (sphere in your case) to the second input of the group SOP

all points on the grid with a location inside the sphere become members of newly created group.

5) you can delete points that are not part of the group by putting down delete SOP, setting it to points mode and selecting the group you created.

btw. you can skip creating the group if you want to delete points inside sphere. delete SOP alone allows you to delete based on bounding primitive too but it's limited to box or sphere primitive (which may be ok in your case since you are using sphere anyway). but if you wanted another shape you have to use the group SOP which allows you to use any object.

to copy boxes on points in group

1) create a copy SOP

2) connect your modified grid to the right input that says "Template to copy to"

3) connect your box to the other one that says "Primitives to copy"

now you should see the box copied onto template points.