Noob question

Hi guys,

I'm very new to C++ code and so I have to ask some question to the masters here

I'm trying to write a simple plugin modifying one of the samples.

I have (well...I wish to have actually <_< ) a SOP with 2 inputs.

In the second input I have to attach a spline curve and of that spline I have to know the arclength, the point position along it and the tangents.

Now I found some functions on GEO_Curve.h that I think do exactly what I want...

float arcLength (float u0, float u1, bool use_frwd_diff=true, int divs=10) const

virtual int evaluatePoint (UT_Vector4 &pos, float u_unit, float=0, unsigned du=0, unsigned=0) const

virtual int evaluatePointWAttrib (UT_Vector4 &pos, GB_AttributeData &adata, const GB_FloatOffsets &foffsets, float u_unit, float=0, unsigned du=0, unsigned=0) const

Now I' not able to use them...anyone can tell me how to use them?

Also...anyone knows how to use the HDK with the editor of Visual C to access directly the information about class inside it?

Also it seems to me that the hcbrowse utility mentioned in the documentation is not available on windows.

Thank you in advance and sorry for my english :P

Now I found some functions on GEO_Curve.h that I think do exactly what I want...

Now I' not able to use them...anyone can tell me how to use them?

15524[/snapback]

In order to use the GEO_Curve code, you must have a curve primitive. You can get the primitive from the gdp using gdp->primitives() (that will give you an array of primitives). On those primitives you need to discover if the primitive is in fact a GEO_Curve before you can use it. Here's an example:

GEO_Primitive  *prim = gdp-&gt;primitive()(i);
if (prim &amp;&amp; (prim-&gt;getPrimitiveId() &amp; GEOCURVE))
{
   GEO_Curve *curve = (GEO_Curve *)prim;
   // use your curve.
}

Also...anyone knows how to use the HDK with the editor of Visual C to access directly the information about class inside it?