Aesthetic issues with PyroFX smoke

Lundgrenuk

I am new to Houdini and trying to finish my graduate showreel, however I am having some issues with the look of pyro FX smoke tools.

The main issue I have is that when the smoke emitter moves too quickly (which is not very quick at all) then I get these clouds of smoke rather than a continuous plume of smoke following the emitter.

Secondly, the smoke does not seem to continue rising a dispersing like smoke normally would. Instead it just seems to hover where it got emitted.

If anyone on here could give me some advice so that I can finish my showreel and begin the daunting task of trying to find a job as a junior 3D generalist that would be greatly appreciated.

w7Wkora.png

Edited by Lundgrenuk

Your abc. file wasn't included  so it's hard to know what exactly you are actually talking about.

Probably you want to familiarize yourself with adding details into a sim.

http://forums.odforce.net/topic/18397-get-rid-of-mushroom-effect-in-explosion-and-add-details-in-the-opening-frames

I'll summarize the most important part.

Fluids, as we expect to see them in the real world, do not exist in a vacuum.

Thank you for the quick reply.

Unfortunately, even when I zip my .abc file it is still too large to upload here (826 MB). I guess that because the emitter is parented to a piece of geometry imported from the alembic file, the emittor is not moving at all when you open the hip file. Which makes sense now that I actually think about it.

If I understand the gist of the what the people are talking about in the link you sent me then adding some turbulent force in the shape of some slight wind and increasing the maximum substeps should go a long way to potentially resolving some of my issues.