scripting custom hotkeys (not available by HotkeyOverrides)

Please, I would like to add few hotkeys to speed up my workflow.

For example, is it possible to add these?
  - Set the Render flag (actually it is not possible to set the flag with mouse hovering over the Parameters pane or over the Scene Viewport pane)
  - Toggle Display Points in the viewport

Should I write any custom Python tool and then set hotkey to it?
Is there any log of recently executed actions by the user, which will help me to replicate those actions in my script?

I am Python newbie so please excuse my noob questions.

as what you already discovered, create new tool, put it onto shelf and assign hotKey to it - note that in H16 you cant easily assign hotkeys with ALT key.

if you dont want your tool visible in TAB menu, dont fill any Label. I have whole toolbar only for scripts that im using as hotkeys.

• Like 3

Thank you very much for your answers. I am still a newbie, is there any log of performed actions? For example I would like to replicate the "Display Points" button in the Python script and I am lost where to find the right Python command. Where do you search for the right Python commands to replicate these actions?

If you would be so kind and direct me also to the "Set Render Flag" command.

The basic idea is to retrieve the selected node and set the render flag. (Just for somebody finding this thread and seeing this for the first time, you would go in a shelf and RMB New Tool...)

node = hou.selectedNodes()[0]
node.setRenderFlag(True)

Strictly speaking that is all you need. Now the render flag is a sop node property, objects don't have it.

You could do a try except block to handle those exceptions.

The other thing you might want later is to set the display flag.

Here is what you can do with nodes in general:

http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/hom/hou/Node

and with sops in particular:

http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/hom/hou/SopNode