I have to make the right choice....

DNS.HOLLAND

Hi Fellow ODForcers,

My name is Dennis and I was wondering if I could have some advice on the following, no fan boy talk just real life scenario experience so I will make the best decision for my Workstation build as I can only spend my money once for now. I am a recent Houdini Indie user, I wish I switched before!

I have the following issue:

I am a Dutch student now seriously into Houdini and on the side do sometimes some Unreal and other stuff.

I am stuck on either a slightly older X299 based 7960X 16/32 core system or the new Threadripper 2950X 16/32 core system. Both are in my country with all the goods and 64GB ram about the same price for both configurations. 

According to CPU monkey they both have similar CPU performance results but my intake was that for reference I was referred to Puget systems to read some stuff about ideal workstation configurations.

They seem to stick with Intel CPU as they are proven to be the best for their Workstation user scenarios and now my question is:

Is the 2950X a solid choice for a hassle free new workstation especially with the 64 lane support and future upgrades once the 2990 WX is all grown up and functions 100% with no bugs v.s. the Intel 44 lane support (I currently have a 3 x 1080 Ti setup for some GPU rendering in other applications). Or would the Intel way be the best choice because of its proven reliability for the past years?

Again I am not a fanboy so I hope to get some useful input so I can make the best choice for now.

If it were up to you would you go for an Intel based system or a newer 2018 Threadripper system?

Edited by DNS.HOLLAND
Spelling errors

Hello,