Change color of scattered and packed grass

Hi everyone! I am very new in Houdini and I hope you could help me solving this problem.

I have a grass which is made of 60 long grids (photo attached), they are packed and scattered over a big grid.  I would like to add random color not only on each grass but on each long grid of grass. But I am stuck because I don't know how to apply random color on something inside a packed primitive. Can anyone please advice? Thank you! 

image.png

image.png

Just apply v@Cd to the points that represent the packed primitives. Then in your shader, you either need to tell the material to "Use Packed Color" if you're using a prefab shader like the Classic Shader or Principled Shader, or if you're building it yourself, you need to include a RenderState VOP that loads the attribute packed:Cd and multiply that against the base color of the material.

Here's another example file: there's one example material using the built-in Use Packed Color switch that's found on the classic shader. The other example material is a constant material doing the packed color multiplication from scratch.

packed_color_example_toadstorm.hip

Edited by toadstorm
misread earlier post

Thank you all for your prompt reply! I tried your suggestion and examples but I am not able to do what I need:

This is the grass that I was mentioned, it's made of 60+ long grid. I applied material (shader with texture on diffuse) to it and packed.

image.thumb.png.b5cfc8b5869a94d7acb0bbced0dde94f.png

I created a grid and scatter points on it, gave it random color.

image.thumb.png.14997a43b53ef12d67ee419c5a132192.png

I use copy to point to distribute the grass on the grid, the grass will collect the Cd from the scattered points.

image.thumb.png.1f1f2175ddda4811e80dc11131fb268f.png

And I will use the Cd to multiply the mapping in the shader to have a better variation on grass.

image.thumb.png.3f5fe02f1d04d816d968d440e5621b01.png