Industrial Smoke Plume Help

Hey, 

Ive been tasked with recreating smoke plooms for a composite.  Im new to pyro, but Im slowly familiarizing myself with the pyro solver for the task at hand--apllied houdini dynamics has been enormously helpful for this.  The best reference for what we are attempting to achieve large scale structure wise is this https://www.shutterstock.com/video/clip-1006794988-chimneys-power-plant-sunset-air-pollution-concept  

Secondary example would be this:

https://www.shutterstock.com/video/clip-1022524201-hamilton-ontario-canada-january-2019-factory-steel

Two issues I am really struggling with are:

1) keeping the structure of the plooms together over time (say 800 frames)--while still moving in the specified direction.   Im referring to this as the large scale shape.  

2)  keep high levels of disturbance and movement within the plume structures even when they get far away from their original vel source.   Small scale detail retention

I have noticed that generally speaking, over time in the pyro simulation, the sim inevitably starts to disperse and smooth out.  I know there could many reasons for this:.  

A few things that could be affecting this as far as I would know: 

1)  temperature diffusion (this could cause smearing)--consequently to counteract this, I have this very low. 

2) turbulence issues: Its needed as far as I can tell to give the plumes variation in structure.   However  turbulence applied globally over a long enough duration with secondary wind force will slowly spread the density  apart in all directions throughout the volume.  This makes sense but is perhaps also a problem.  We need turbulence, but the turbulence cant blow apart the structure with time in this case.