SOP_PointWave example questions ....

Hello guys ,,, I am a beginner at the world of HDK .. I am struggling with the basics and simple examples to understand how things are going here :D

So , I am greatly seeking your help though I might ask some stupid questions (many of them xD)

I have read a lot of examples and have inquiries but let's stick to the example here

https://www.sidefx.com/docs/hdk/_s_o_p_2_s_o_p__point_wave_8h-example.html

https://www.sidefx.com/docs/hdk/_s_o_p_2_s_o_p__point_wave_8_c-example.html

Firstly , I will describe my problem in the first file

virtual OP_ERROR             cookInputGroups(OP_Context &context, 
                                                int alone = 0);

I don't understand what this actually does ... Is it restricting the cooking to a specific group or what??

look at its code in the other file , sorry , though it's explained here  , I don't understand ... it's my bad but sorry again for seeking for help for such basics .

OP_ERROR
SOP_PointWave::cookInputGroups(OP_Context &context, int alone)
{
    // The SOP_Node::cookInputPointGroups() provides a good default
    // implementation for just handling a point selection.
    return cookInputPointGroups(
        context, // This is needed for cooking the group parameter, and cooking the input if alone.
        myGroup, // The group (or NULL) is written to myGroup if not alone.
        alone,   // This is true iff called outside of cookMySop to update handles.
                 // true means the group will be for the input geometry.
                 // false means the group will be for gdp (the working/output geometry).
        true,    // (default) true means to set the selection to the group if not alone and the highlight flag is on.
        0,       // (default) Parameter index of the group field
        -1,      // (default) Parameter index of the group type field (-1 since there isn't one)