Copy to points - help randomly rotate donut sprinkles

Hi!

Usual disclaimer - I'm fairly new to Houdini (though, I know enough to have built this delicious looking donut) and I've searched previous posts and the internet for answers. ;)

I know this question has been asked 100 times, but I haven't yet found an answer compatible with my brain. 

I just want to randomly rotate the sprinkles and keep them (mostly) flat against the surface of the icing.

I know they are aligned to N of the face that the copy sop used to place them. Can I simply randomize their rotation based on that? (I don't know what's creating their individual rotations at the moment, as they are generally facing the same way, but not exactly. That could be helpful to know.)

Thanks!

image.thumb.png.0a731baafdd94f0d7fcc72a3eb68c766.png

Thanks for the reply!

I actually read your blog post this morning. It helped me understand some things. I need to read it again.

I have to admit I'm not that enthusiastic that the easiest solution is to install external tools through git. lol

I'll check it out though, thanks for the tip.

There must be a VOPpy solution?

I can't think of why sidefx doesn't have this "rotate/orient copies" function built into the copy node? 

2 hours ago, evilRainbow said:

Thanks for the reply!

I actually read your blog post this morning. It helped me understand some things. I need to read it again.

I have to admit I'm not that enthusiastic that the easiest solution is to install external tools through git. lol

I'll check it out though, thanks for the tip.

There must be a VOPpy solution?

I can't think of why sidefx doesn't have this "rotate/orient copies" function built into the copy node?