Meshes

B.Walters

I've been using Houdini for a couple years now, and to be honest, I've never used Meshes and I don't even know what they really are. It's never come up. But I'm afraid next week it might, as I'm teaching a intro to Houdini course next week, ( http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com...&Itemid=182 ).

So what are Meshes and what are they good for? Houdini's Help didn't seem to have too much information on meshes (that or I overlooked it).

Someone might correct me, but I think of them as NURBS hulls. They can only have quads and must arranged in rectangular topology. Unlike NURBS, I don't think there's any tools for trim curve ability? So in that respect, they're closer to polygons. However, I suspect tool support for Meshes are less for them than Polygons or NURBs although many of the tools will work with them.

The main advantage I can think of is less memory use where your geometry is simple enough. For example, a Mesh Torus with 100x100 rows/columns only has an approx. memory usage of 509 KB (with only 1 mesh primitive), whereas the equivalent polygon Torus uses approx. 1524 KB (same number of points but 100,000 primitives).

I've been using Houdini for a couple years now, and to be honest, I've never used Meshes and I don't even know what they really are. It's never come up. But I'm afraid next week it might, as I'm teaching a intro to Houdini course next week, ( http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com...&Itemid=182 ).

So what are Meshes and what are they good for? Houdini's Help didn't seem to have too much information on meshes (that or I overlooked it).

Meshes are bilinear patches. They are equivalent (but simpler) than an order 2 NURBs/Bezier surface.

They are simpler than NURBs since they have an implied basis (so are faster to evaluate and don't have to carry around their basis with them).