How to create dyanmic HDA parameters based on attributes.

Latimerias

Hello,

So i import data with varying attribute values. For example ill call it attribute "Type" with string values "B,F,C,D". The attribute always imports under the name type but the values change, im looking for a way to generate a color parameter for each value so i can color value "F" primitives a different color than "B,C,D". The problem i cant get around is if the next dataset i import has values "X,A,S" how can i make the interface dynamic so that now i only have color parameters for the X,A,S values. The closest thing i can find is multiparam blocks but those would require me to manually create the parameters where instead i want parameters to generate based on the number of attribute values. Is this even possible without python, i have no experience coding.

I hope this made sense, thankyou for your time!

Edited by Latimerias

• 2 weeks later...

@carthick

Sorry it was hard to explain, i know how to color my existing attributed what im looking for a is a way to turn them into parameters for an HDA. I need a procedural way so that when the dataset changes it generates new parameters.

Edited by Latimerias

Okay, here's what I understand, and I got some questions.

On different datasets, you got a string attribute named "type" with different values.

Let's say you import once.
The tool auto populates B F C D.
You now have a multiparm or whatever that you can control the color and whatnot as you want.

But now, you import again, and now you got F X A S
F is still there, but X A and S are new.
What do you expect to happen then ?
The easiest to do is on each new import, wipe the entire UI and start from scratch
But this means that for different datasets, if you got the same value, you'll have to re-enter the parameter manually.

Here is a mockup, where when you import a new dataset, it resets all parms and populate with default ones.
dynamic_HDA_parms_mockup.hipnc