Exporting FBX with dynamic textures/materials

mbrajsa

Hi all,

I'm new to Houdini, but I'm already finding it fascinating. Coming from a developer background, I really enjoy the ability to use scripting nodes and the complexity of the software altogether.

I've started experimenting with creating a texture from the object's colors and then applying it to the object's clone. I've used a simple box geometry for testing, and what I did was the following:

1. Created a detail "Attribute Wrangle" node, which sets different colors to all of the box's points.
  2. Added a "Volume Wrangle" node which samples the color at a specific UV coordinate of the box and updates the value for that voxel in a 2D volume.
  3. Created a COPNet with a "SOP Import" node where I'm reading the value of the "Volume Wrangle" node using a custom plane (the volume's output).
  4. Added a "Channel Copy" node where I'm mapping that custom plane to an RGB one.
  5. Created a MATNet with a "Principled Shader" with a base color of white, which doesn't use the point color, but a texture instead. Set the texture value to read the output of the COPNet.

I've got my source material set up with all that in place. I've added a new box, applied the "UV Texture" node to it, unwrapped the UVs, and applied the material. The result (and the node layout) can be seen in the screenshots below:

image.thumb.jpeg.7fe91a7d612d0164d5ca1a00f6db2765.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.14561e38ae5ab94757c0fd68451dc6c6.jpeg

And as far as the initial dynamic material creation from mesh points is concerned, all works.

Now, I've also wanted to export the mesh and the applied material as an ".fbx" using an export node. For that, I had to purchase an Indie license. So, I've used https://www.orbolt.com/upgrade-houdini-files to convert the project to an Indie-compatible version.