Zbrush to houdini - displacement maps

jim c

I'm having problems getting my ZBrush displacement map to work in Houdini. Nothing I'm doing seems to work, and the posts make this sound so easy, that I'm obviously missing something. I'm a newbie to both ZBrush and Houdini, so I'm sure that's part of the problem. I'll try and explain what I'm doing and maybe someone here will be able to point me in the right direction.

On the Houdini side I'm using Houdini 10, and the VEX_zbrush_displacement.otl from the Sidefx Exchange site. I found instructions about a VEX_zbrush_displacement.pallete but I never did figure out what that was, where to get it, or how to install/use it. I'm loading the otl as a library for a specific hip file only, if I try it the other way, it pops up either error/warning dialogs, or the material SOP node shows warnings about a missing attribute, or something like that.

For ZBrush I'm using ZBrush 3.1

I created a sphere, subd'd up to level 5 (2.99 million points). I added a bunch of detail, so I have something like this:

testshape.jpg

I go back down to subd level 1, export the tool as an obj file. I create a geo object in Houdini, add a file SOP, and import the geo node. I use the pelt tool to create a UV set like so:

Fullscreen%20capture%207232009%2093116%20PM.jpg

Then export (from the pelt node) as an obj file. Back in ZBrush I import this new obj file in. In ZB, I go to the Displacement section, change DPsubpix to 4, DPRes to 2048, click on both Adapative and SmoothUV, click on Mode, and finally hit the Create DispMap button. Chug, chug, I have an alpha. I export this with DE Settings quick code of DE-JCGK-EACADA-D32.

I get a bunch of tifs, something like:

t1-uv2-6a.jpg

Back in Houdini I create a material node in the SHOP manager with the VEX_zbrush_displacement displament shader and the clay surface shader.

Fullscreen%20capture%207232009%2094634%20PM.bmp.jpg