glass shatter

Aks

Hi all,

this is my first post.

first of all, big thanks to all the community members!

i am new to Houdini, & am not sure i am doing perfect with this shot.

i am trying to break glass & other elements of a building (attached image)

shot is - a heavy object hitting glass building.

for front row of glass, simulation is taking +30min for a frames after collision, just to shatter glass,(floor & piller still to be done)

is this right amount of time for this geometry?

any other way (easy to control) do achieve this result?

(attached .hipnc file)

m using Quad core2.2, 4GB, Win2008 x64,

Thanks in advance... :)

post-4697-125120218926_thumb.jpg

glass_shater_od.hipnc

Edited by Aks

Welcome!

That does seem a bit of a long sim. I looked at your file, but none of the geo being read by File SOPs were there for obvious reasons. You can "bake" the geo into the SOP itself by toggling on the red flag of the File SOP. I had a look at your scene, and one likely reason that your sims are taking awhile is you unchecked the "Use Volume Based Collision Detection" on your rbd objects. Unless the geometry you are bringing in is a flat plane, then you want to keep this ticked on. How many pieces is in your glass rbd glue DOP?

Hi all,

this is my first post.

first of all, big thanks to all the community members!

i am new to Houdini, & am not sure i am doing perfect with this shot.

i am trying to break glass & other elements of a building (attached image)

shot is - a heavy object hitting glass building.

for front row of glass, simulation is taking +30min for a frames after collision, just to shatter glass,(floor & piller still to be done)

is this right amount of time for this geometry?

any other way (easy to control) do achieve this result?

(attached .hipnc file)

m using Quad core2.2, 4GB, Win2008 x64,

Thanks in advance... :)

Edited by SpencerL

Welcome!