Possible Sprite with Delay load??

efx

This is my first post here.

And I have a question about delayed load.

I think as you all already know that the delayed load is the way to go in many case mostly for production use.

My question is quite simple.

Can I use delayed load with sprite?

As long as both shader need to be as procedural shader,

I could not find a way to use them together.....

I am not good at writing shaders and staff instead good at drinking beers and stuff :D

So If someone knows how to do, Please share the knowledge!!

Edited by efx

A sprite is a VRAYprocedural already. Which means it will generate the geometry at rendertime. I do not know if it works exactly like delayed loads in terms of memory useage, but I would think so. -> No raytracing or the geometry is kept in memory.

So basically it does not really make sense to try to "delayed load" a sprite, because it is already a procedural.

All that a sprite is, is a plane facing the camera with a certain orientation applied to it.

So in that sense you could rebuild your own sprites with an instancer. Instancing a simple grid and modifying the shader with the instancepoint().

in regards to loading delayed loads with that instancepoint() expression, this file might help you to set it up:

I haven't used sprites that often anymore, because you might as well instance delayed load volumes, which will give you much ritcher lighting and object interaction (no hard clipped intersection as with sprites).

A sprite is a VRAYprocedural already. Which means it will generate the geometry at rendertime. I do not know if it works exactly like delayed loads in terms of memory useage, but I would think so. -> No raytracing or the geometry is kept in memory.

So basically it does not really make sense to try to "delayed load" a sprite, because it is already a procedural.