Upgrading GLIBC

Stremik

The reason why I'm asqing this is that I remember coming across

a post on "justlinux" forums awhile ago where someone asqed a similar question. The answer was that many apps and modules would stop working.

From my point of view, if this was true, it wouldn't be the Linuxlike.

Being in doubt, I decided to confirm it with you guys.

BTW.

Could you please outline the process of how to do it please.

I'm still very new to Linux.

rpm -Uvh ???

I think it may be possible to keep the old one and still upgrade. Gentoo allows this in some cases. Not too experienced with that myself so I don't want to lead you astray. get on one of the linux irc channels. those guys are pretty helpful.

Installation and upgrade is pretty automated on Gentoo and quite unlike any other linux distro, so the procedure would not be the same. Given glibc is such a core component in linux I personally wouldn't want to play around without checking it out thouroughly. I'd recommend gentoo to anyone but if you must keep rh7, go right on ahead. On a hunch I believe the most you would need to do is upgrade or reinstall some of the dependent software, but please don't take my word for it

Houdini should work just fine with rh8, Works fine with 9 too- was using it before i switched to gentoo. If you can get your hands on gentoo, give it a try. Teaches you a lot about how linux works. I'm a newbie myself and gentoo has helped me come to terms with linux, dare I say even tame it to some extent, Besides I've never gone this long without needing to reinstall linux :D

That's it!

I'm curious.

I'm gonna install "Gentoo"

Tell me tho, which one do I need? I looked at an FTP mirror and found

multiple distros. "athlon-xp", "basic", "i686", "pentium3", pentium4", "x86".

Certanly I understand that both "pentiums" are ruled out since I'm have an Athlon

mashine. What about the rest four? Which one is better for me?