Learning VOPSOP

Hello all.

I've been using houdini on and off for the past 2 years, for hobbie projects, nothing amazing or anything. I felt like I never learned houdini. I want to start learning it more serious and get a solid foundation of VOPs. Can someone please point me to a good resource? I've looked at the help inside houdini and it is still very confusing to me.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks!

Welcome to your tutorials! First task is to randomise the points of a line in VopSop - you have one day to complete this :)

Please post your questions and results here and the Odforce members will help you out.

Thanks!

Well I know how to do it at the SOP level...

How would I do it with a vopsop?

My real question is, is there any good solid tutorial that covers vopsop specifically. I've seen plenty of tutorials that are just button pushers. I would like to understand it.

line.hipnc

Edited by thesoloman

sorry don't know of any tutorials.

Out of interest why are you so fixated on tutorials as the only way to learn?   I'll venture that no tutorials really gives you understanding that you are seeking; they are almost always shortcuts to techniques using other people knowledge.

I really don't know why you think I'm fixated on tutorials, I never once even mention them in my first post. I asked for a good resource.

Would you mind sharing some insight on the a good way to learn?  What do you mean by "shortcuts to techniques using other people knowledge."?

Thanks, I appreciate it.

Edited by thesoloman

A good way to learn is to try things out, ie. my first post.  Not sure why you completed it in Sops when you wan to learn VopSops.  Try to randomise point positions in VopSops, try to colour points by XYX position etc. That's a way to learn. 

Re: Tutorials - you mentioned them in your second post...

Right, because you mentioned this in your first post "Welcome to your tutorials!"

Anyways, it doesn't matter.