newbie help scripting a collision/deformer sop

Kenshin_desu

Hello,

I'm a total newb to Houdini and its scripting langauge and I am having diffuclty writing a script that will detect collisions and deform objects that participate in the collision.

For example, say I have a box that is key framed to come crashing down onto a grid. When the box comes in contact with the grid I want to deform the grid such that when the box leaves the grid, there will be an imprint of the box on the grid. So far I've tried scripting an SOP that goes inside the grid geometry and takes the grid's points and the box's channel name as inputs. Then using the grid's points and the box's channel name I tried to test positions like this:

if ch("/obj/grid/tx") <= grid.y then collision has occured but I keep recieving a segmentation fault which causes Houdini to crash.

I'm pretty sure that my approach is incorrect but with my current knowledge of the scripting langauge I'm kind of lost. Can anyone offer me any advice on how I should approach this problem? Should I be trying to script an SOP or should I be scripting a CHOP? Can I even do this using VEX? Or do I need to try the HDK? Any Input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Mike

Hi Steven,

thanks for your quick reply. However, for this task my professor requires me to script this as opposed to using the built in operators.